December 5, 2022

Introducing the Winners of the Ace of Spades Awards

The Ace of Spades Roping Club members and their families gathered at the Valley Cowboy Church on Sunday for their custom awards banquet.

After dinner, participation awards were given to 41 members. In order to receive a participation award, members must compete in four of the six fun nights throughout the summer.

Beautiful custom-made buckles by Tres Rios Silver were awarded to the All-Around and Runner Up Champion in each division. They are:

All-Around Champions for 2019:

Tiny Tot All Around: Rivers Koontz.

J1 All-Around Cowgirl: Trinity Ortiz.

J1 All-Around Cowboy: Ian Crouch.

Jr. All-Around Cowgirl: Jocelynn James.

Jr. All-Around Cowboy: Maverick Barratt.

Sr. All-Around Cowgirl: Hailey Davidson.

Sr. All-Around Cowboy: Riggin Dutton.

Runner-Up Champions for 2019:.

Tiny Tots: Braylin Barratt.

J1 Runner Up Cowgirl: Bristyl Barratt.

J1 Runner Up Cowboy: Spencer Mosher.

Jr. Runner Up Cowgirl: Jerni Hall.

Jr. Runner Up Cowboy: Rhett Dutton.

Sr. Runner Up Cowgirl: Chanlee Pennington.

Sr. Runner Up Cowboy: Kaden Maes

The group expressed its gratitude to the buckle sponsors who make it possible to award the beautiful Tres Rios buckles: Hauler Back Ag, Erickson Cattle Company, Painted Kokopelli Ranch, Chris and Kim Sherwood, T4 Cattle Company, Kevin and Rae Ann Waggoner, La Junta Mill, Colorado Vet, and Ace of Spades Roping Club.

This year the club added a new award, The Ace of Spades Spirit Award. This award will be given to the cowboy or cowgirl who has shown dedication, determination, kindness, improvement, and the cowboy/cowgirl spirit throughout the year; someone who is polite, respectful, helpful, and brings joy to others. This will be a yearly award and the winner will receive a custom-made Tres Rios buckle. Receiving the first Ace of Spades Spirit Award was Jozee Jackson.

Ace of Spades Fun Nights are held on Thursday evenings beginning the last Thursday of May. Six fun nights are held, concluding in late July. Each week is jack-potted with year-end buckles awarded to the all-arounds and runners-up in each division. Events are barrels, poles, flags, goat, breakaway roping, dally ribbon roping, and team roper (must rope with an adult.)

Officers of the club are Kevin Waggoner, president; Teresa Walz, vice president; Kim Sherwood, secretary/treasurer; Jackie Schiferl and Walter James, directors.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *