December 5, 2022

VMA’s 2019 Winner Roundup

America’s top stars such as Taylor Swift and Lil Nas X performed live at the Video Music Awards on Monday night, wowing the audience and collecting awards to take home. Swift took home the trophy for Video of the Year, while Lil Nas X earned Song of the Year for his catchy number, “Old Town Road.”

With comedian Sebastian Maniscalco as the hosting personality, the awards were a hit. A throwback performance by Missy Elliott became the first female to receive the Video Vanguard award; her performance featured Alyson Stoner and was an overall success.

The debut Fashion Trailblazer award was earned by Marc Jacobs, whose unique runway shows and outstanding celebrity collaborations have made waves in the industry this year.

The musicians up for Artist of the Year included Billie Eilish, Cardi B, Halsey, The Jonas Brothers, Shawn Mendes, and the winner, Ariana Grande. Song of the Year nominees included “In My Feelings” by Drake, “thank u, next” by Ariana Grande, “Sucker” by The Jonas Brothers, “You Need to Calm Down” by Taylor Swift, “Shallow” by Lady Gaga and Bradley Cooper, and the winner, “Old Town Road (Remix)” by Lil Nas X featuring Billy Ray Cyrus.

Other custom awards presented on Monday night included Best New Artist, Video of the Year, Best Collaboration, Best Power Anthem, Song of Summer, Best Group, Push Artist of the Year, Best Hip Hop, Best Pop, Best Dance, Best K-Pop, Best Latin, Best R&B, Best Rock, Video for Good, Best Direction, Best Visual Effects, Best Editing, Best Art Direction, Best Choreography, and Best Cinematography.

Panic! at the Disco’s Brendon Urie took home several awards including Best Rock and Best Visual Effects for his collaboration on Taylor Swift’s “You Need to Calm Down.” Shawn Mendes and Camilla Cabello’s collaboration on “Señorita” earned accolades for Best Collaboration and Best Cinematography. Billie Eilish took home awards for Best Editing and Push Artist of the Year.

The Song of Summer went to none other than Ariana Grande and Social House for “boyfriend.” The Best Power Anthem was awarded to Megan Thee Stallion ft. Nicki Minaj & Ty Dolla $ign for “Hot Girl Summer.” Overall, Taylor Swift, Ariana Grande, Brendon Urie, Billie Eilish, and Lil Nas X took home most of the Gold on Monday night.

Best K-Pop went to BTS featuring Halsey for “Boy With Luv.” The Jonas Brothers took home the Best Pop award for their hit song “Sucker.” Best Hip Hop went to Cardi B for “Money.” ROSALÍA & J Balvin ft. El Guincho took home the awards for Best Latin and Best Choreography, while Best Dance was awarded to The Chainsmokers ft. Bebe Rexha for “Call You Mine.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *